Nash County Public Schools Indian Education

Nash County Public Schools: Indian Education

Nash County Public Schools applied for Title VI (Indian Education) funds for the first time during the 2023-24 school year. The number of Native American students in the district is growing and includes students from the following tribes:

  • Haliwa-Saponi

  • Lumbee

  • Kiowa

  • Tohono O'Odham

  • Sioux

  • Waccamaw

  • Chickasaw

  • Navajo

The Indian Education Parent Committee was created with bylaws adopted in August 2023:

  • LeighAnn Evans, President

  • Airick Havier, Vice President

  • Adriana Havier, Secretary

  • Kay'Leigh Jacobs, Assistant Secretary

  • Chenoa Davis, Coordinator

  • Janet Morris, LEA Liaison